The Next Step

Photo by Andrea Piacquadio on Pexels.com

Last night I asked my husband if we could leave the country. He laughed a bit and said, “not right now.” (He didn’t say no though)

I put this picture of the world up because the world is a big place. There are millions of people that I will never meet. This picture is a bit of a reminder that my dreams aren’t impossible.

I’ve always wanted to be an ESL teacher (preferably in a Spanish speaking country) but the world is big. . .certainly there is something out there that I’m supposed to do.

Today was a rather sad day. . .it was my last official day of work at my job.

I remember being a recent college graduate looking for a job and seemingly randomly getting this job that would come to mean so much to me.

I worked at a school for two years, and these kids made me laugh everyday and challenged me in ways I didn’t know was possible.

They will never know it, but they are the only reason I had the courage to apply to graduate school.

I never would have gotten where I am today if it was not for them.

Early this year, I felt God calling me to leave this job for a lot of reasons.

That is always a scary thing. . .God calls you to leave something that is safe and do something that maybe isn’t so safe.

The problem is. . .I once again don’t really know what that next step is.

I had a summer job lined up, that kinda fell through last minute, and now the only thing I have is a few interviews.

I have plans next fall for my student teaching, and then substitute teaching in county schools, but I honestly don’t know if the substitute position will work out.

There is so much that I don’t know and it’s kinda driving me crazy.

My ever supportive husband tells me that sometimes it is ok not to have everything figured out and I know that he is right.

Sometimes that’s just part of trusting God. . .(Not always an easy part of being a Christian)

So I don’t really know what God has for me next, but I hold on to the fact that God holds good things from people to give them something better.

I don’t really know if God will ever ask me to leave the country, but right now I’m just taking the next step.

Leave a comment