When God Says No

Photo by Pixabay on Pexels.com

My summer job is working this education program for elementary school children.

It has been a lot of fun to get to know the different kids and get some more education experience.

One thing I often find myself saying as their teacher is “No.”

Everything from “No it’s not a good idea to throw sticks at our friends” to “No you are not going to color on the wall.” Pretty much things I thought I would never have to explain to anyone and here I am having normal everyday conversations about random things I thought were obvious.

I tell them no not because I don’t want them to have fun, but because I don’t want them hurt. Like in the first example, I don’t want them to throw sticks at each other because it could hit someone and they could get hurt.

Maybe that is why God tells me no sometimes. Not because he doesn’t want me to have fun, but he doesn’t want me to get hurt.

I will never understand why children make the special choices that they make, and I’m pretty sure that God probably doesn’t understand some of my choices, but I know that he loves me and wants what is best for me.

Leave a comment