Not My Spiritual Gift

Photo by Nothing Ahead on Pexels.com

I spent two summers working at a Christian summer camp. Every Saturday night the camp staff would get together and sing worship songs to God. We definitely did not have to, especially after a crazy camp week when we all were tired, but we all wanted to.

Then on Sunday mornings, we would all gather in the chapel for church. Some of the staff I worked with were a part of the worship band. This band would lead worship for church on Sundays.

One of my coworkers I worked with at the time (the cool worship leader with a guitar) kept trying to get me to be a part of this worship team. I would jokingly tell him “that’s not my spiritual gift.”

He kind of laughed at that, but some reason he was convinced that I should be a part of this worship band.

At this point in my life, I could not play any instruments and I think that everyone probably could agree that they do not want to hear me sing. . .

My coworker started teaching me a few guitar chords. You know, the four you have to know to play any song on guitar. (G, C, EM, and D). By the end of summer I was not good at all, but I did think it was fun.

I told myself, that if I ever had the time, I would find a guitar and learn how to play it.

So over the next year something happened that gave me an insane amount of time. . .you guessed it, quarantine. . .

I guess that probably everyone picked up a new hobby around the time of quarantine, but guitar became one of mine.

I found a cheap acoustic guitar on Amazon, and I figured if I never learned to play, I didn’t really waste any money.

I was quarantined last March and I learned how to play my first song on guitar. The song I learned to play was Waymaker.

Literally you can play it with the 4 chords I mentioned it’s not a hard song. . .

All of this because one of my coworkers was convinced that I belonged in the camp worship band and took the time to teach me 4 chords.

I definitely still don’t feel like guitar is my “spiritual gift,” and I really don’t want to be in a worship band anytime soon, but I definitely have a lot of fun.

Leave a comment