Make Your Younger Self Proud

Photo by Nina Uhlu00edkovu00e1 on Pexels.com

So it’s been a minute since I have posted. I’ve been insanely busy. . .I’m trying to survive grad school and work and study for educator exams, and try not to go crazy in the process, (some of my students might think I’m already crazy haha).

10 out of 10 do NOT recommend grad school. It is completely exhausting, probably worth it at the end, but right now it’s completely exhausting.

I saw this TikTok trend that I wanted to try except on my blog not on TikTok (I’m not exactly the most savvy TikToker haha)

A while back there was this trend with people reflecting on their lives and where they ended up, so I wanted to take a minute to reflect on my blog.

6-year-old me would be proud that I am working as a teacher (even if it’s a substitute).

12-year-old me would be happy I found a boy I love.

14-year-old me would be surprised I don’t have kids yet.

16-year-old me would be sad to know that I still suffer from depression and anxiety.

18-year-old me would be surprised I’m not a published author.

20-year-old me would be surprised I completed my undergrad and shocked to know I am working on my master’s degree (and shocked that I have a 4.0 GPA).

22-year-old me would be happy to know that I am figuring out who God is and breaking free of my past.

23-year-old me would be happy to know I play guitar.

25-year-old me finally understands God loves me and is open to whatever God calls me to in the future.

I like to think that in a few years I will look back and say something like “26-year-old me would be proud that I finished grad school and have a job as an English teacher.” Of course I have no idea what the future will hold, but I could not have imagined God bringing me on this journey to get me to where I am today.

Whatever you choose to do, make your younger self proud.

Leave a comment